

ECONOMY AND EFFICIENCY COMMISSION MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING December 2, 2021

ROOM 525, KENNETH HAHN HALL OF ADMINISTRATION 500 West Temple St., Los Angeles, CA 90012

Editorial Note: Agenda sections may be taken out of order at the discretion of the chair. Any reordering of sections is reflected in the presentation of these minutes.

1. CALL TO ORDER

With the presence of a quorum, Vice-Chair Jackson called the Commission meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. via Microsoft Teams.

2. APPROVAL OF COMMISSIONER'S ABSENCES

The following was the attendance for the meeting:

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT

Robert Cole Benjamin Everard Jacob Haik Ronald K. Ikejiri T. Warren Jackson Larry Kaplan Robert Philibosian Wilma Pinder Joanne D. Saliba Natalie Samarjian John Anthony Schmitz Connie Sullivan Cesar Zaldivar-Motts

COMMISSIONERS REQUESTING TO BE EXCUSED

Becca Doten Jeffrey Monical Edward Munoz Yolanda Rodriguez-Pena Craig Taubman

3. APPROVAL OF NOVEMBER 4, 2021 MINUTES

Vice-Chair Jackson asked if there were any objections or changes to the minutes of the November 4, 2021 Commission meeting. Hearing no changes, the motion was then Moved, Seconded, and Adopted. The minutes of the November 4, 2021 Commission meeting were approved.

4. PUBLIC COMMENT

None



5. <u>REPORTS</u>

i. CCJCC

Commissioner Jackson reported that there was a routine report and presentation by Los Angeles County Human Relations Commission on Hate Crimes.

Commissioner Jackson also reported that there was a follow-up request for CCJCC to nominate a representative from a public safety agency to serve as a member of the County Commission on Alcohol and Drugs.

Chair-Emeritus reported that it was a meeting with routine business discussion no action items were on the Agenda.

ii. Environmental Transit Stop Solution

Commissioner Saliba reported that the Transit Stop Solutions project was conceived by the creative brain of Executive Director, Edward Eng. She reported that three of the city colleges from the 1st District: Rio Hondo, East LA, and LA City College all had groups participating in the project.

Commissioner Saliba reported that all the students presented their presentations on December 1, 2021. She reported that there were six presentations in total: two from Rio Hondo, one from Los Angeles City College, and three from East Los Angeles College. She reported that she was one judge for the project along with Mr. Fred Wong from the Department of Public Works, Mr. James Wong from Metro, Executive Director Edward Eng, and 1st District Transportation Deputy Martin Reyes. She stated that Administrative Assistant Pittmon and Commissioner Schmitz also attended.

Commissioner Saliba reported that she hopes that these community-partnerships can continue after this project ends. She reported that the students were very energetic about its particular project and were hungry for more collaborative work like this.

Executive Director Eng reported that for the next meeting he will put together a deck of designs that the students came up with. He reported that the projects were not just creative, but they were aesthetically pleasing and functional.

6. PRESENTATION

There was no December 2, 2021 presentation.

7. COMMISSIONERS' ANNOUNCEMENT

There were no Commissioner Announcements.

8. STAFF ANNOUNCEMENTS



Administrative Assistant Pittmon reported that any Employees/Commissioners who lost their ID badges must provide the following three (3) items to HR, Room 374 (1) a copy of a police report, (2) an affidavit, and (3) a receipt of payment of \$25 from Fiscal Services. She reported that Fiscal Services is located at 500 W. Temple St., Room 383.

She also reported that once you have all three items, please bring them to HR, Room 374, in the HOA building so a new ID badge can be issued.

She reported that to file a police report you can file at the Hall of Administration or your local police station.

Executive Director Eng reported that based on the bylaws, E&E will be electing a new Chair for 2022 at the first meeting of the New Year. He reported that part of the selection process is to form a Nominating Committee consisting of one representative from each Board District. Executive Director Eng added that members of the Nominating Committee will not be eligible to run for Chair.

The Nominating Committee for Chairperson 2022 consists of:

- 1. Commissioner Schmitz-1st District
- 2. Commissioner Ikejiri-2nd District
- 3. Commissioner Samarjian-3rd District
- 4. Commissioner Sullivan-4th District
- 5. Commissioner Everard-5th District

Administrative Assistant Pittmon stated that she will send out an email to each District representative of the Chair Nominating Committee with contact information for each of the appointed Commissioners in their respective districts. She stated that she will also send out an email setting up a conference call between the Nominating Committee and Executive Director Eng to discuss the 2022 Chair Nominations.

9. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned by Vice-Chair Jackson at 11:39 am.

Respectfully Submitted,

mon

Executive Director, Edward Eng